Slide background
Slide background


The award, founded in 2003 by Hungarian entrepreneur Sándor Demján with the support of the National Association of Entrepreneurs and Employers, aims to honor and preserve Hungarian achievements, and facilitate improvements in the fields of science, art, culture, and sport.

Adam Fischer received the Primissima Prize in music, which is endowed with 15 million Forint, at a gala on December 7th held at Budapest´s Palace of Arts.


This is shaping up to be the most idiomatic and exciting cycle of Mahler symphonies since Kubelik and Bernstein

(Grammophone Magazine April 2018)

Under Ádám Fischer the Düsseldorfer Symphoniker is in sparkling form delivering a performance that feels fresh and distinctive with a deeply intense atmosphere that is entirely compelling.

(Musicweb International June 2018)

For their Mahler recordings the Düsseldorfer Symphoniker and Principal Conductor Adam Fischer have received great critical acclaim. Most recently they have published Symphony No 3 (CAvi Music) with soloist Anna Larsson and will continue their successful Mahler cycle in January performing Symphony No 9 at the Tonhalle in Düsseldorf followed by a concert tour to Spain.

This autumn Adam Fischer returns to Milan´s Teatro alla Scala for a new production of Verdi´s Ernani staged by Sven-Eric Bechtolf. Première on September 29th and performances until October 25th.

Adam Fischer can also be heard in concert in Milan in October conducting Haydn´s Die Schöpfung. The third concert on October 15th will be broadcast live on Rai Radio 3.

In a ceremony on May 31st at the Knesset building in Jerusalem Adam Fischer was awarded the Wolf Prize in Music by the President of the State of Israel Reuven Rivlin. The international prize committee praised him as an inspirational conductor and eloquent defender of human rights:

“His support of humanrights, and in particular, his protest against the political developments in his native Hungary, make him an artist of exemplary integrity - a quality that shapes his interpretations as well as the morality of his stance. The Wolf Foundationis proud to recognize in Ádám Fischer a musical leader beloved around the world, whose aspirations serve as an inspiration to us all.”

Since 1978, the prestigious prize has been awarded annually to outstanding artists and scientists in five different fields for their achievements for the benefit of mankind.

In his speech Adam Fischer announced that he would donate the prize money to the Hungarian Helsinki Commission.




back to top